What I Hear: La Marque options, Sterling hires,

La Marque coach Darrell Jordan has been offered a 2-year extension by La Marque superintendent Ecomet Burley, but Jordan hasn't accepted. Jordan is high on the list for what could be another La Marque _ Lancaster is making a strong run for Jordan, who previously coached just on the other side of I-20 at Kimball.
Jordan is coming off a great season at La Marque, a community which wasn't pleased with the La Marque drop in performance. La Marque, led by standout junior running back Tim Wright reached the 4A state final before losing to Aledo and its star back Johnathan Gray, who had a record eight rushing touchdowns.
La Marque won seven games in Jordan's first two years after he replaced Chris Jones, who spent one year at La Marque following the state title seasons of Flower Mound Marcus coach Bryan Erwin. La Marque has won five state titles and the community was highly critical of Jordan in '08 and '09 and to start the '10 season and it apparently has left some baggage.
Jordan was Kimball for seven season at Kimball with a 52-29 record. Once a longtime assistant at Lufkin, Jordan led Kimball to the playoffs in each of his seven years with the school. The Knights advanced to the Class 4A, Division I regional quarterfinals in 2002 and 2003.
Before arriving at Kimball, Jordan was co-defensive coordinator at Lufkin for eight seasons. He was also a defensive backs coach at El Paso Socorro from 1983-1994. He has Master's Degree from Stephen F. Austin.
Sterling names Aduddell
Troy Aduddell of Clear Lake was named Baytown Sterling coach to replace Herb Minyard. Aduddell, considered an option offense specialist, had 83-69-1 record at Clear Lake since 1996 with state playoff berths in in 1999, 2003, 2004 and 2008, has been coaching for 24 years.
"After 24 years of coaching - 15 of those at the helm of the football program at Clear Lake - I felt it was the right time, and Sterling was the right place to come in and build a winning program,'' Aduddell said.
The 48-year-old Aduddell becomes the 12th football coach in Sterling's 44-year history. He is attempting to revive a program that has gone 23-54 over the past eight seasons, including 22-45 under Minyard.
Aduddell was named District 24-5A's Coach of the Year in 2003 and 2004. In 2004, he was the Houston Chronicle High School Coach of the Year, a Touchdown Club of Houston Coach of the Year finalist and the Houston Texans' High School Coach of the Year after guiding the Falcons to the Class 5A state semifinals.
The Rangers were 2-8 in 2010 and have made the Class 5A state playoffs only once since 1985.
Aduddell is a graduate of Jersey Village and Stephen F. Austin University, where he earned a bachelor's and master's degree in education.
After two years of coaching in Garland, Aduddell began his career at Clear Lake as a defensive ends/linebackers coach in 1987. He later became the defensive coordinator before taking over as the head coach in 1996.
Stony Point DC for Fredericksburg
Round Rock Stony Point defensive coordinator Lance Moffett has been recommended to at Fredericksburg according to the Fredericksburg Standard.
Moffett is a protege of Stony Point's highly successful defensive guru Craig Chessner, who has made Stony Point a perennial state power since moving over from being on the staff of David Aymond at North Shore.
At Fredericksburg, he will replace Dean Herbort (58-49 in 10 seasons at his alma mater.)
Moffett, 43, was Stony Point's defensive line coach and he was also in charge of the Tigers' strength and conditioning program. Before spending the last two years at Stony Point, Moffett coached at Vista Ridge, Caney Creek (HC with 6-14 record in 2004-05)and Conroe High.
Chesser, who was among the Top Up and Comers to Watch in 2010 Preseason Football Magazine, had offensive line coach Todd Raymond hired as head coach by Austin McCallum in 2008.
Fredericksburg had a statewide search with more than 200 applicants narrowed to 10 finalists, which was dropped to eight after Daingerfield's Barry Bowman and Katy DC Gregg Miller withdrew eaerly.
Fredericksburg finalists:
Barry Bowman Daingerfield HC
John Frazier West Rusk HC
Casey Hubble Denton Guyer DC
Gregg Miller Katy DC
Lance Moffett RR Stony Point Strength/DE
David Sine Sonora HC
Sam Smith Tomball OC
Dale Williams Caldwell HC
Joe Willis Leander Cedar Park DC
Brad Wright Former Texas State
Vanover tells Angleton good-bye; Hello Tomball Memorial
As first reported, Angleton ISD Athletics Director Finis Vanover accepted the job at new Tomball Memorial and told Angleton players Monday morning of his decision.
He told The Facts Monday afternoon the prospect of launching a program from scratch at Tomball ISD was just too goo
"This has been a dream of mine to create one from the start, and as a coach there would be nothing better than that," Vanover said. "There is no preconceived notions, no old system, no holdover coaches, no grudges from kids or parents, so it just can't get any better than that.
"It is an opportunity financially, professionally, that not many coaches get. I've been doing 35 years of this and this is my first one. It is one of those bucket list deals that you would love to attempt and see if you can handle it."
The Facts
His stay was a successful one at Angleton, going 35-22 in those five years, including playoff berths in the last three seasons. In his first season, Vanover and the Wildcats were 4-2 in district play, but were left out of the postseason after tying with Friendswood and Texas City.
In 2007, the Wildcats slumped to 2-4 in district playoff, but returned hard in 2008, going 6-1 and winning a co-district championship with Friendswood. That season in the playoffs, the Wildcats lost to Beaumont Central, 35-34, in the last minute of play in the third round.
Angleton was stymied again in 2009 after winning the district title, when Brenham beat the Wildcats in a heartbreaker, 32-28, in the third round of the playoffs.
The Wildcats were 4-2 in District 23-4A last season, losing in the first round to Pearland Dawson, 47-13.
"I think we created a family- type mentality here - that used to be here, but was lost along the way," Vanover said. "I think we re-created that and that was one reason for our success with everybody on the same page. We had some great players along the way with D.J. Monroe, Henry Josey, Quandre Diggs and Ryan Jackson.
"We've done some great things here with over two dozen college scholarships to football players and over 40 for all of our athletes," he said. "I'd like to think we had a great hand in acquiring these facilities and getting the mentality of the town to pass this bond to do this thing the right way."
Monroe and Diggs both will be at the University of Texas next season, while Josey just completed his successful freshman year at Missouri. As for Ryan Jackson Jr., he returns for his senior year next season, and was the leading ground-gainer in District 23-4A in 2010.