TheOldCoach Saturday Rewind

Matt Stepp,
Senior Analyst,
Email questions or comments to:
Follow Matt on Twitter and Facebook.
It was a busy day of travel for this "sports-writer" as I left Fort Worth at 7am to travel to the Plano West SQT. The tournament favorites Coppell and Duncanville did not disappoint as each punched their tickets to the 7 on 7 State Tournament July 15-16 at Texas A&M University. Coppell took home the tournament championship with a close 33-32 win over Duncanville. Coppell, who finished the day at 5-0 clinched their spot at the State Tournament with an easy 44-18 win over previously unbeaten McKinney. Duncanville also handled an unbeaten team with ease as they cruised past Sherman 33-12.
Below are the scores from the tournament:
Pool A
Coppell 25 Plano West 19
Rockwall 27 Carrollton Creekview 20
Plano West 40 Rockwall 18
Coppell 41 Carrollton Creekview 27
Plano West 27 Carrollton Creekview 6
Coppell 27 Rockwall 6
Pool B
McKinney 25 Denton 20
Allen 32 Prosper 14
McKinney 44 Allen 33
Prosper 26 Denton 19
McKinney 32 Prosper 26
Allen 33 Denton 14
Pool C
Lewisville Hebron 19 Richland 12
Duncanville 14 Richardson Lake Highlands 12
Duncanville 32 Lewisville Hebron 13
Richland 21 Richardson Lake Highlands 12
Richardson Lake Highlands 32 Lewisville Hebron 6
Duncanville 18 Richland 13
Pool D
Wylie East 13 Frisco Liberty 12
Sherman 12 Dallas White 0
Sherman 33 Frisco Liberty 20
Wylie East 40 Dallas White 24
Dallas White 27 Frisco Liberty 26
Sherman 44 Wylie East 41
Coppell 44 McKinney 18
Duncanville 32 Sherman 12
Coppell 33 Duncanville 32
Saturday night in Wichita Falls the 74th edition of the Maskat Shrine Oil Bowl took place at Memorial Stadium. Despite on paper having a big talent advantage the All-Stars from Oklahoma were unable to make enough big plays and Texas pulled out a come from behind 17-14 win in overtime. The winning margin was provided by Argyle's Chad Hedlund who nailed a 39 yard field goal. Texas which had struggled in the kicking game all day finally was able to get a clean snap off and the Wake Forest signee split the uprights. Oklahoma got the ball first in overtime and fumbled on their first play as DeSoto LB Cord Seay broke through and caused a fumble from QB Derek Patterson. The loose ball was then recovered by Coppell LB Brandon Mullins.
Texas jumped out to a quick 6-0 lead as Mesquite Horn's Stephen Sanders picked off a Patterson screen pass and future SMU Mustang weaved his way 69 yards for the score, the PAT was blocked thus the Texans led by just six.
Oklahoma would take a 7-6 lead as on a 3rd and goal from the 21 yard line QB Will Davis out of Elk City hooked up with Lawton's Tyrequek Zimmerman for a 21 yard touchdown pass. The future Oregon State Beaver made a sensational grab on the sideline in traffic and Davis put the throw on the money.
Oklahoma in the third would extend the lead to 14-6 as Zimmerman hauled in a 39 yard touchdown pass from future Tulsa Golden Hurricane Patterson. The third quarter was completely dominated by the Oklahoma All-Stars as the Texas offense appeared stuck in the mud.
The Texas defense would get them back in the game with 6:06 to go and having Oklahoma pinned deep in their own territory a poor snap was jumped on by Patterson in the end zone thus giving Texas a safety and cutting the lead to 14-8. Texas would get great field position, but facing a 4th and six from the Oklahoma 39 Keller's Tyler Park threw quick screen to Colorado State signee Lee Clubb and the Iowa Park product broke five tackles on his own and showed big time speed to gain 24 yards and a huge first down. With three minutes remaining in the game Mexia's Doug Gentry punched it in from four yards out to tie it up at 14 as once again the PAT operation failed.
Oklahoma would move the ball to midfield but a deep pass at the end of regulation was incomplete setting up the Texas overtime heroics by Hedlund.