Cueros Jackson receives honor

Trent Jackson was suffering from strep throat and missed school on Thursday.
But Jackson's spirits got a lift after learning he was named to the first team of the 58th Annual Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association Class 3A All-State Football Team.
Jackson, a sophomore, was selected at running back after rushing 287 for 2,526 yards and 33 touchdowns.
"I had a good season for my sophomore year," Jackson said. "After playing as a freshman, my teammates trusted me more and really helped me out."
Jackson broke Robert Strait's school record for rushing yards as a sophomore and helped lead the Gobblers to the Division I state semifinals before they lost to eventual state champion Gilmer and finished with a 13-1 record.
"I worked out in the weight room real hard," Jackson said. "I got a lot stronger. My speed and my vision also improved."
Cuero quarterback Tyler Arndt, who signed with Texas State on Wednesday, and linebacker Tanner Hoffman were named to the third team.
Edna offensive tackle Mac Long and Yoakum offensive guard Jacob Hardin, running back Trey Hights and kicker William Markert were also selected to the third team.
Arndt, a senior, passed for 2,379 yards and 27 touchdowns. Hoffman, a junior, had 25 catches for 418 yards and eight touchdowns.
Long, a sophomore, graded out at 97 percent with 37 pancakes and allowed no sacks. Hardin a senior, graded out at 88 percent with 19 pancakes.
Hights, a senior, rushed for 1,657 yards and 26 touchdowns. Markert, a senior, converted eight of his nine field goal attempts with a long of 41 yards and had 25 touchbacks on 70 kickoffs.
Cuero's Hoffman and Yoakum's Markert earned honorable mention at linebacker and kicker, respectively.
Edna quarterback Kam Jones, who signed with Texas-San Antonio on Wednesday, received honorable mention.
Yoakum defensive lineman Koryon Beltran, linebackers Marcus Ferree of Palacios and Nick Morrow of Edna, Yoakum defensive back Jesse Braden and Yoakum kick returner Ryan Mikulik also received honorable mention.
Gilmer quarterback Darian Godfrey was named the offensive player of the year, and Carthage lineman DeShun Williams was selected as the defensive player of the year.
Carthage's Scott Suratt was named coach of the year.