Allens Tom Westerberg named NHSCA National Coach of the Year

Allen's Tom Westerberg named NHSCA National Coach of the Year
Press Release from NHSCA
Easton, PA - July 21, 2013 - The National High School Coaches Association ("NHSCA") is proud to announce Tom Westerberg, head coach at Allen High School in Allen, Texas, as its 2014 National High School Football Coach of the Year.
This is the 15th straight year the NHSCA has honored these achievers in the high school coaching community nationwide.
This year's recipients, selected in a total of 20 boys' and girls' sports, are from 16 different states. California leads the way with three coaches being honored, followed by Michigan and New Jersey with two each and 13 states claiming one honoree each.
While these coaches represent a multitude of different backgrounds, they exhibit a common theme: a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.
"This announcement is always a lot of fun for me and we're very proud to salute Coach Westerberg," said NHSCA Executive Director
Bob Ferraro, Jr. "All of the coaches, we honor, are outstanding examples of successful high school coaches in their sport. They place a high value on the teamwork skills their players learn for success in the classroom and on the field and we are proud to be honoring all of them."
In 10 years as the leader of the Eagles, Westerberg's teams have won three state titles in Texas' biggest classification. Allen's overall record under Westerberg is 118-16 with eight of his ten seasons as head coach ending with at least ten victories. By finishing a perfect 16-0 in 2013, Allen will bring a 27-game win streak into the 2014 season. With the return of several key players including all-state quarterback Kyler Murray, the Allen Eagles are expected to challenge for a third straight state title.
"It is definitely an honor for our football program at Allen for me to be named as the National Coach of the year," said Westerberg. "It is through countless hours of our staff and the desire of our kids to achieve at a high level, that we are able to accomplish the things that we have over the last 10 years. Thanks for recognizing me and our program."
Each one of the honorees will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.
2014 NHSCA National Football Coach of the Year
Tom Westerberg, Allen HS
Following are the NHSCA's past selections for National High School Football Coach of the Year.
2013 - J.T. Curtis, John Curtis, Louisiana
2012 - Chuck Lenahan - Plymouth HS, New Hampshire
2011 - George Smith - St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida
2010 - Jeremy Williams - Greenville HS, Georgia
2009 - John McKissick - Summerville HS , South Carolina
2008 - James Drewry - Booneville HS, Mississippi
2007 - Gary Rankin - Alcoa HS, Tennessee
2006 - Randy Allen - Highland Park HS, Texas
2005 - Charles "Corky" Roger - The Bolles School, Florida
2004 - Bob Ladouceur - De La Salle HS, California
2003 - Chris Jones - Heritage HS, Virginia
2002 - Alan Trimble - Jenks HS , Oklahoma
2001 - Bob Ladouceur - De La Salle HS, California
2000 - Mike Pettine, Sr. - Central Bucks West, Pennsylvania
About the National High School Coaches Association
The NHSCA is a 501c3 non-profit organization with a mission statement to provide leadership and support to the nations 1 million high school coaches and 10 million high school athletes. The NHSCA selects the national coach and athlete of the year in 20 boys and girls sports that will be featured in the NHSCA National High school Sports Hall of Fame Museum. The museum serves as a home for all of the 20,000 high schools in America to honor their outstanding coaches, athletes and administrators. The NHSCA Educational Resource Center provides educational programs for coaches as well as a coach certification program. The NHSCA also provides unlimited liability insurance for all of its members. For more information go to