All-District 5-5A teams feature Cedar Hill, Duncanville stars

District 5-5A co-champs Cedar Hill and Duncanville took in most of the individual honors but the hard-fought district also took into account the progress at Mansfield by making the Tigers staff of Coach Jeff Hulme as the Staff of the Year after getting an 8-3 record following a 1-9 season in 2009.
Cedar Hill defeated Duncanville, 35-31, in a district thriller to get the No. 1 seed but both ended their season to second-round playoff losses. Cedar Hill lost to Denton Guyer, which the Longhorns had defeated in non-district but found beating such a good team twice in a year unattainable.
Cedar Hill quarterback Driphus Jackson was named the 5-5A Offensive MVP after throwing for 2,910 and 29 touchdowns. He's being recruited as an athlete by SMU, Rice and Marshall but his improvement as a passer after concentrating on his throwing and giving up basketball showed dramatic results this season.
Duncanville quarterback Divan Ealy, who had to sit out the second half of at playoff loss to Coppell at Cowboys Stadium with a shoulder injury, was honored as well after throwing for 2,356 yards and 22 touchdowns. Duncanville running back Chris Simpson was another offensive leader with 1,256 yards rushing and 19 touchdowns and sophomore Aaron Piper emerged as a top prospect for 2013 with 741 yards on 83 carries and 10 touchdowns.
Duncanville senior linebacker Josh Hunt (6-1, 210) was named Defensive Player of the Year. He's got early offers from Wake Forest, Iowa State, Houston and Colorado State and will likely pick up more after a standout season with the Panthers.
Cedar Hill senior Lovett Gibson remains solid in his commitment to UTEP and made first-team all-district after the 6-3 receiver caught 64 passes for 1,204 yards and 13 touchdowns.
A top prospect for the Class of 2012 emerged with Mansfield star Hassan Ridgeway, a first-team selection at defensive end. He's a fast-rising, 6-45, 235-pound basketball player who will be among the state's Top 20 recruits next season.
Versatile receiver/returner De'Vante Lacy of Grand Prairie also was honored with a first-team selection and also established himself as a top 2012 prospect.
District 5-5A 2010 All District Team
MVP (DISTRICT) Driphus Jackson (CH)
OFF MVP Divan Ealy (DUN)/ Damon Bullock (MAN)
Sophomore of the year (OFF) Justin Seeton (MID)
Special Teams (P/K Ret) LaQuvionte Gonzales (CH)/Aaron Piper (DUN)
=====================FIRST TEAM====================
Position: Player School Class
QB Dillon Fairbanks Midlothian SR
Jared Johnson S. Grand Prairie JR
Charles Taylor Timberview JR
RB Chris Simpson Duncanville SR (U)
Jonathan Albercrombie Cedar Hill SR
FB Kentrell Joyner Mansfield SR
Derrick Johnson Duncanville SR
TE Trent Gow Mansfield SO
Darrius Davis Duncanville SR
G Darius Thompson S. Grand Prairie JR
Adam Butler Duncanville JR
C Austin Davis Mansfield SO
Julian Roland Cedar Hill SR
T James Runnells Cedar Hill SR
Blake King Duncanville SR
Trey Farrar Legacy SR
Nathan Maurer Mansfield SR
OWR Jeffrey Thomas Duncanville JR
Malcolm McKenney Duncanville JR
Keonte White S. Grand Prairie SR
Lovett Gibson Cedar Hill SR
IWR Josh Doctson Legacy SR
Andre Anderson Cedar Hill JR
Jalen Parker Duncanville SR
De'Vante Lacy Grand Prairie JR
K Jordan Wiggs S. Grand Prairie SR (U)
=======================SECOND TEAM===========================
Position: Player School Class
QB Tommy Alvarez Grand Prairie SR
Jerod Evans Mansfield JR
RB DaCarlos Humphrey Legacy JR
Leonard Aikens S. Grand Prairie JR
Ronnie Green Cedar Hill SR
FB Walter Butler S. Grand Prairie SR
TE Anthony Johnson S. Grand Prairie JR
Dillon Lundell Cedar Hill SR
Trent Davis Legacy SR
G Nick Holsomback Timberview SR
Wade Nowlin Legacy JR
Hunter Graham Mansfield JR
Sam Jenkins Duncanville JR
C John Happel Legacy SR
Gerry Gallimore Duncanville JR
Myron Hanson Midlothian JR
T Travis Wiggins S. Grand Prairie JR
Darnell Jones Duncanville SR
Xavier Warren Cedar Hill SR
Harry Spivey Grand Prairie SR
Rees Odhiambo Legacy SR
Kevin Kopinski Mansfield SR
Tony Kirk Midlothian JR
OWR Marchie Murdock Legacy SO
Julio Quintawa Mansfield SR
Phillip Smith Midlothian SO
Treydell Smith Timberview SR
IWR Gary Davis Mansfield JR
Colton Thigpen Midlothian SR
Candon Myles S. Grand Prairie SR
Kelton Speck Cedar Hill SR
K Alex Rostro Grand Prairie JR
Andy Alkhazshvilly Mansfield SR
Staff of the Year: Mansfield
======================HONORABLE MENTION========================
(CHILL): Jared Rayford, Anthony Pullins, Aderius Epps, Dion Jackson, Sam Bryant, Tylik Nunn; (DUNC): Aaron Evans, Richard Ramirez, Jalen Wilson, Anthony Rodriguez; (GP): Patrick Palmer, Colton Bowen, Josh Vasquez; (LEG): Conner Smith, Quentin Hasten; (MAN): Logan Bennett, Ken Burks; (MID): Trevor Pinson, Jeff Reynolds, Bryan Dupont, Kyler Brown; (SGP): Quaze Woods, Kelvin Brigham, Louis Daily; (TIM): Armanie Smith, Sean Roland, Chaz Sampson
MVP Josh Hunt (DUN)
Sophomore of the Year Chad Whitener (MAN)/Cordray Love (DUN)
==================FIRST TEAM==================
Position: Player School Class
FS Demarcus Robinson Cedar Hill SR (U)
Trevor Walker Timberview SO
SS Nathan Fisher Midlothian SR
Cameron Napolean S. Grand Prairie SR
Quincis Overstreet Duncanville SR
Nathan Davis Mansfield SR
CB Trevor Wilson Mansfield SO
Erick Agbaroji Midlothian SR
Ricky Pratt S. Grand Prairie SR
Trendall Stevenson Cedar Hill SR
OLB Cameron Porter Cedar Hill SR (U)
Kendal Washington Legacy SR
Stephon Lanigan Duncanville SR
ILB Slater Gravens Midlothian JR
Shawn Blackwell S. Grand Prairie SR
Brandon Davis Duncanville SR
DE David Harris Cedar Hill JR
Hassan Ridgeway Mansfield JR
Roy Robertson S. Grand Prairie SR
Kindred Evans S. Grand Prairie SR
DT/NG Darius Stubblefield Cedar Hill JR
Terell Brooks Duncanville SR
Zach Pemberton Duncanville SR
P Alex Rostro Grand Prairie JR
Jonathan Phipps S. Grand Prairie JR
==================SECOND TEAM========================
Position: Player School Class
FS Tevin Mitchel Legacy SR
George Baltimore Mansfield SO
Bryce Murphy Midlothian JR
SS Dashone Barlow Cedar Hill JR
Ian Simon Legacy SR
Marcus Hunter Grand Prairie JR
CB Gary Lewis Duncanville JR
Dawayne Fleeks Grand Prairie SR
Jayven Tucker Legacy SR
OLB Victor Gonzales Midlothian SR
Abraham Hall S. Grand Prairie JR
Donnell Perry Duncanville SR
ILB Montreal Jett Legacy JR
Vanoy Harris Timberview JR
Jeremy Akomeah Mansfield SR
Brooks Ward S. Grand Prairie JR
Stephen Taylor Cedar Hill JR
DE Jude Akpunku Cedar Hill SR
Josh Uland Duncanville SR
Vincent Panza Midlothian SR
DT/NG Matt Hardy Mansfield SR
Avery Jones S. Grand Prairie SR
Deron Jones Timberview SR
Ryan Jaisle Midlothian SR
P Chris Mota Legacy SR
================HONORABLE MENTION=================
(CHILL): Cameron Bennett, Chris Roberts, Denzel Lewis, Denzel Henson, Derek Chase, Corey Feagin, Isiah Lewis, Ryan Sparkman, Kiedric Berry; (DUNC): Ghatona Iduwe, Sean Evans, Montel Baree; (GP): Daniel Reina, Jacinto Villareal, Trevoris Buckner; (LEG): Billy Manning, Marcel McDowell, Ronny Rundy; (MAN): Hunter Graham, Moufadhil Adebo, Ryan LeRoy, Ryan Whitlock; (MID): Jarmon Jackson, Kyler Brown; (SGP): Travis Golden, Willie Johnson, Brooks Ward, Wilbert Presley; (TIM): Yaw Osei-Baffour, Rene Laswon, Sawar Mahmoudi, Mike Adefolarin